top of page

STORY: Winter Springs 2020 runner Mackenzie Czurak commits to Central Florida

By: Ross Van De Griek

In case you missed some recruiting news over the weekend, UCF landed senior cross country & track star Mackenzie Czurak out of Winter Springs High School in Winter Springs, Florida just outside of Orlando.


Czurak chose UCF over Northwestern & is expected to run both cross country & track while at the University of Central Florida.


Czurak on why she chose UCF. "Growing up not too far from UCF, my whole life was familiar with the campus, but it wasn't until my official visit meeting the team & exploring the facilities & talking with the coaches that I knew that UCF was the place for my future.

Czurak on her Northwestern official visit. "I had a great visit with the coaches & the staff, but had a feel of a private school in Northwestern, versus a public school like UCF."


Last track season, Czurak ran a 5:26.54 mile run, 11:49.73 2-mile run, 2:19.25 800-meter run, 1:01.59 400-meter run & ran a 5:08.52 1600-meter run.


Czurak competed last year at the 2019 FHSAA Track & Field state championships in Jacksonville, where she ran in the 1600 meter event.


Czurak on her favorite moment at Winter Springs. "Spending time with my teammates, traveling to away meets, staying in hotels, the team bonding, we had a lot of laughs & I'm gonna miss them when I'm in college."


Czurak, also says "She'd like to thank Coach Jackson for giving her the opportunity to run both cross country & track for UCF. I also wanna thank my family & friends for pursuing, believing & helping me chase my dreams of competing at the next level."

107 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page