top of page

STORY: Sarasota 2020 TE August Drews commits to the University of Florida

By: Ross Van De Griek

Sarasota 2020 TE August Drews commits to the University of Florida

On Tuesday evening, one of the most dynamic tight ends in the Tampa Bay, Bradenton area has announced where he will be committing for his college football career. Sarasota tight end August Drews announced via social media, he is heading to the University of Florida.


Drews, chose the University of Florida over Colorado, Indiana, Jacksonville State & Ohio State.


Drews, is listed as a 6'4, 220 pound tight end, and is currently ranked the 120th best tight end in the nation & the 279th overall prospect in the state of Florida, according to 247Sports.com.


Drews on why he chose the University of Florida. "They had the best plan for me to be the best I can be." "The recruits were amazing & as soon as I stepped on the campus, I felt like it was the right place to be." Drews added.


Drews, this season has played in 8 games, where he has just 15 catches, for 185 receiving yards, 2 receiving touchdowns & 9 total tackles this season.


Drews visited with the University of Florida last month & he told me, "I had a great visit, the coaches were great & the staff were just amazing to me."


Sarasota head coach Spencer Hodges, on Drews. "He brings a special kind of talent to the table every day whether it's during the game or practice." He's one of the hardest working kids I know, I just love his attitude & his willing to win." Hodges added.


August Drews & his Sarasota Sailors (5-3) will hit the field on Friday night, as they host Lakewood Ranch (5-2).

246 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page