top of page

STORY: Lake Gibson 2020 DB CJ Barnes commits to Army

By: Ross Van De Griek

On Monday morning, 3-star defensive back CJ Barnes out of Lake Gibson High School in Lakeland, Florida announced his commitment via social media to Army.


Barnes chose Army over schools such as Alcorn State, Florida Atlantic, Georgia Southern, Georgia Tech, Southern Miss & USF.


Barnes, on why he chose Army. "The love that they showed me throughout the recruiting process, I have been in contact with the coaching staff since the spring." When I visited Army back in April, they gave me a chance to play right away & set me up for life", Barnes added. "I was interested in all the schools that offered me, but Army was the front runner since they offered me."


Barnes held a total of 11 offers throughout his recruiting process from schools such as Buffalo, Campbell, Central Michigan, Eastern Michigan, Fordham, Navy, Tennessee State & Western Carolina.


So far this season, Barnes has racked up 59 total tackles & has 10 tackles for loss, in just 6 games played. This is Barnes' 1st season playing at Lake Gibson, after spending the last three seasons playing at Durant High School in Plant City.


Lake Gibson head coach Robert Paxia on Barnes. "I knew he had the potential to play at the next level, the first time I saw him on a football field."


Barnes & his 9-0 Lake Gibson Braves wrap up the regular season on Friday, hosting Winter Haven (7-2).

89 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page