top of page

STORY: Wharton 2020 outside hitter Jeanette Henderson commits to Saint Leo

By: Ross Van De Griek

Wharton senior outside hitter Jeanette Henderson commits to Saint Leo University

Yesterday afternoon, Saint Leo University landed one of the top outside hitter prospects in the Tampa Bay area. Wharton (Tampa, Fla.) outside hitter Jeanette Henderson announced on her social media, that her plans are to continue her collegiate career playing beach & indoor volleyball at Saint Leo.


Henderson, chose Saint Leo over D2 Birmingham Southern & Pasco-Hernando State College. Henderson was mentioned on the Tampa Bay Times' All-area volleyball teams her sophomore & junior seasons while playing for the Wildcats.


Henderson, on why she chose Saint Leo. "When I first started playing volleyball, I knew I wanted to play in college & Saint Leo gives me the chance to play both beach & indoor volleyball. Henderson made official visits with Birmingham Southern & Saint Leo, during her recruiting process. "I also wanted to pick a school where my family & friends can still watch me play." Henderson added.


Henderson, on the Birmingham Southern visit. "The girls were so welcoming & the coaching staff was great & the school was really nice."


Henderson played for Club Steel U18 Navy, which is based out of Tampa & was coached by Elyse Garcia & Jenny Rinck.


This season for Wharton under head coach Eric Barber, Henderson finished with 213 kills, 168 digs & 30 serving aces, in 66 sets played.


Henderson, on her favorite high school volleyball memory. "Too many to count, I'd have to say the bonding with my teammates & the team dinners we had."

243 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page