top of page

STORY: Jesuit 2021 infielder Cole Russo commits to UCF

By: Ross Van De Griek

Another Tampa Bay area underclassmen is off to playing baseball at a division one school, as Jesuit junior infielder Cole Russo, announced his commitment to the University of Central Florida last night, via his Twitter account.


Russo, joins his teammates Bennett Lee (Tulane commit), Camden Minacci (Wake Forest commit) & Henry Politz (Holy Cross commit) as the four future division one baseball prospects. Although, Minacci could be a name to keep an eye on during the 2020 MLB Draft next spring.


Russo, led the Jesuit Tigers to their fifth state baseball championship in school history last May, where he told me "that was the goal for me since I walked into Jesuit at the beginning of my freshman year." Russo also plays for the Mets Scout Team & Georgia Bombers during the travel ball season.


Russo, on why he chose UCF. "I could tell right away that this is the place where I wanted to be, when I got on campus, I felt like I was at home." The coaching staff and everything about UCF was just eye opening to me & I just had that feeling that this is where I wanna play my collegiate career." Russo added.


Russo, hit .342 last season, scoring 19 runs & had 27 RBI's, with 3 doubles & hit 2 home runs. Russo also added 3 stolen bases & had a .922 fielding percentage for the Tigers last season.

203 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page